Victory!

5 10 2010

For those who don’t know me terribly well, my boyfriend of three years has spent the last one fighting for physical custody of his son, who is in need of special education and medical care that his mother wasn’t obtaining for him. We received news last week that she has agreed to settle, and victory is basically imminent.

Personally, I’m extremely happy. I love this kid to death, and I can’t wait for him to be a bigger part of my life than he was even before now. But apart from that, I’m strangely remorseful. While his mother’s lackadaisical treatment of his medical issues was absolutely wrong, I know that she adores her son, along with his grandmother – they’ll both be losing him, and they’re both heartbroken. As glad as I am for the victorious outcome, I can’t help but be sad that people have to be hurt by this.

Then again, looking back on some of the things his mother said and did over the course of the last year and a half, not even including the entirety of the custody battle, I think I can find a nugget of sadistic pleasure in all of this. I do sincerely hope she gets the help she needs in order to properly care for her son.

This is the kiddo – I’m so excited to see him soon.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

